It’s a scientific fact that adding a saxophone will make just about anything great. An experiment out of Ohio has gone the distance to have said saxophone used heavily with a top notch, instrumental Progressive Metal band and the results are beyond noteworthy! Strap in…

This is Crossing The Rubicon. They currently stand as a four man band bent on bending your senses with their sweet compositional abilities and high octane musicianship. More specifically, they are Alejandro Licano & Deven Jahnke with the guitar work, Dave Woehrle down under with the bass, and Josh Durke soaring on top with the woodwind.

Together, they’ve been making incredible sounds since 2011. In that time, they’ve put out 2 albums, an EP, and a number of singles that are all worth giving a spin. Speak of the devil, there’s a play button you can press right here:

Most recently, they just put out a full-length album by the name of “Matter” which exhibits some of their best jams to date! Between 11 tracks and about an hour’s worth of listening, there’s a lot of greatness to be discovered here! Better yet, the album sounds amazing as it was mixed at SONARC Studios and mastered by none other than Jamie King (Between The Buried And Me, The Contortionist, Scale The Summit, etc).

You can dive into the sounds for yourself right here, right now! The entirety of the album is available for streaming and purchase via Bandcamp among many other prominent music sources like Spotify, iTunes, Amazon, and beyond. Furthermore, we recently had the opportunity to stream their music video for the track “Time Lapse”! Tuck in!

If you wish to follow along with Crossing The Rubicon as they continue on this golden path of sound, you may do so by checking them on platforms like Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Soundcloud.

Links: Facebook // Twitter // Bandcamp // Spotify // iTunes // Amazon // YouTube // Soundcloud