An awesome new band by the name of John Frum has just been launched through Relapse Records. It includes a few faces you may know. To be more specific, Liam Wilson (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Ex-Starkweather) and Derek Rydquist (Ex-The Faceless) are included along with Matt Hollenberg (John Zorn, Cleric) and Eli Litwin (Intensus, Deveykus, Knife The Glitter).

They’ve just announced their new album along with releasing a brand new single. All the information you could possibly, currently hope for can be found in the official press release right here:

The patron saints of altered states known as John Frum welcome in the golden age of musical enlightenment with A Stirring In The Noos. Nearly 6 years in the making, John Frum’s unorthodox debut maneuvers through 40 minutes of darkly psychedelic and meticulously crafted death metal, acting as a medium for malefic musings, the backdrop of a bad trip. The mysterious John Frum is the manifestation of four musical minds coalescing in a collective consciousness developed from time spent playing with The Dillinger Escape Plan, The Faceless, John Zorn, Cleric and many more elite projects. A Stirring In The Noos is a dismal distillation of oneric transmission and a totem to modern primitivism in heavy music.

“The band John Frum borrows its alias from the Cargo Cults of the South Pacific. Similar to American soldiers receiving air-dropped supplies during WWII, these Cargo Cults believed certain behaviors and rituals would bring riches and “cargo” down from the heavens. Some believed the elaborate flag rituals of the troops working the airfields would bring the arrival of more planes, when in fact the soldiers were just helping the pilots land. Essentially, we are all Cargo Cults, misunderstanding cause and effect, creating narratives and outcomes to support our clung-to beliefs about our strange traditions, all in a futile attempt to make some sense of things that simply don’t. Amongst other things, our music is a reaction to ‘Cargo Cult Science’ in modern times. A Stirring in the Noos is our humble greeting, the first transmissions from the mind of John Frum.” – John Frum

Today, John Frum has unveiled a video for their debut track, “Presage of Emptiness,” which can be viewed now here:

John Frum is:

Matt Hollenberg (John Zorn, Cleric)/guitar
Eli Litwin (Intensus/Deveykus/Knife The Glitter)/drums
Derek Rydquist (Ex-The Faceless)/vocals
Liam Wilson (The Dillinger Escape Plan, Ex-Starkweather)/bass

The collective’s first album, A Stirring In The Noos, will be available on CD/LP/Digital and is scheduled for release on May 12th via Relapse Records. Pre-order the record now.

A Stirring In The Noos track list:

Presage of Emptiness
Pining Light
Memory Palace
Through Sand and Spirit
Lacustrine Divination
He Come
Assumption of Form
Wasting Subtle Body

John Frum will perform a handful of intimate club shows leading up to the release of A Stirring In The Noos. Dates are listed below.

April 14 – Philadelphia, PA – Shred Shed w/ Surgeon + Special Guest TBA
April 15 – New York, NY – St. Vitus w/ Imperial Triumphant + Special Guest TBA
April 16 – Baltimore, MD – Metro Gallery + Special Guest TBA

Links: Facebook // Official Website